Hello there , G mirza here

So today I’m back with another recipe! the extremely tempting ” Fasolia ” pronounced “فاصوليا” in arabic , this is one of my favourite middle eastern dishes , It goes great with shai Adeni ( tea adeni ) Aden is a city in Yemen.

Me and my parents go to the traditional Yemeni restaurant quite often , we’re absolutely in love with everything about it , but after a while , I thought why not make it at home!

The ingredients are super simple , and this recipe turned out close to the Fasolia I had at the restaurant.

so here are the simple ingredients you’re gonna need:

1 cup red beans  ( or you can use three store bought cans  )

1 green pepper

1 tomato

1 big onion

3 cloves garlic

1/4 cup tomato paste

salt to taste

a pinch of black pepper

1 teaspoon powdered cumin

1 teaspoon paprika or red chilli powder

3 tablespoons olive oil

 

Now heres how you make it:

  1. put the beans in a pressure cooker with 5 cups of water.
  2. Thinly slice the onion and chop the green pepper , fry in oil until soft.
  3. add the chopped tomato , garlic , spices and and tomato paste , add a cup of water , cook until it turns into a thick tomato soup.
  4. When the beans are cooked , drain them and pour into the tomato soup , ( no need to drain the store bought cans , you can just pour them in directly )
  5. cook the beans in the tomato soup on medium heat for 5-10 minutes and mash a portion of them leaving some beans whole.
  6. serve the Fasolia in a tradional clay pot  garnished with corriander or parsley.

 

So yeah guys that was my latest recipe , I hope you enjoyed it , do let me know what you think about it!

please subscribe to my blog to get notified for new blog posts

hope your having a great day ❤

